Discover Krake

Maximising the energy efficiency of computing jobs with open source software

Octopus for Saxon Digital Prize 2024 nominated

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Our open source project Krake has been nominated for this year's Saxon Digital Prize in the Open Source category. To bring home the coveted prize, we ask for your support. Vote for Krake in the public voting until 30 April 2024.

What is Krake?

The Krake orchestrator engine can be used to automatically manage containerised workloads on distributed and heterogeneous cloud platforms. Find out more about the open source software solution, its features and the use cases below.

Why Krake?

The challenges

Computing jobs are real energy guzzlers, and AI applications in particular consume significantly more computing power and energy than conventional computing jobs due to their size and complexity. The resulting conflict between serious CO2 footprints and AI applications, which have the potential to overcome our ecological and economic challenges, must not be neglected.

Solution & advantages

This is where Krake comes into play. Krake [ˈkʀaːkə] is an orchestrator engine for containerised and virtualised workloads on distributed and heterogeneous cloud platforms.

With Krake, cloud users can distribute their virtual workloads - in addition to typical metrics such as hardware, latencies and costs - primarily on the basis of energy efficiency-related criteria.

Krake does this by creating a thin aggregation layer on top of the various platforms (such as OpenStack or Kubernetes) and making them available to the cloud user via a single interface.

Field of application

Krake can be used for a variety of application scenarios in which the processing of virtual computing jobs or the utilisation of the digital infrastructure is to be optimised.

Features

Modularity

The architectural components of Krake, which act as microservices in the background, are loosely connected and can be started, customised or exchanged with your own developments independently of each other.

Intelligent workload distribution

Based on individual metrics and labels, Krake can automatically and intelligently decide where a virtualised workload should be executed.

Scalability

Kubernetes clusters can be rolled out, customised and scaled with the help of Krake and infrastructure-providing software (e.g. the Infrastructure Manager). This can be done both manually and automatically.

Open Source

Krake is fully open-source and thus benefits from many advantages, such as a strong community, high quality and security through peer reviews or the promotion of interoperability or long-term accessibility of the code.

Use Cases

In a distributed digital infrastructure, Krake can be used to process virtualised workloads at precisely the locations that are optimal from an ecological, technical or economic perspective at any given time. Users can individually define the metrics for the calculation of optimal execution locations. This results in the following example scenarios:

1. requirement-optimised workload distribution

The use of Krake can ensure that a virtualised workload is always processed at the optimum location. First, Krake preselects the locations that fulfil all the requirements of the application (e.g. technical restrictions). Krake can then select the best location for processing the workload, for example from an energy optimisation perspective. 

For example, a compute job could contribute to heating a building due to its high computing load at location A, while workloads are processed at location B to fulfil very specific data security requirements. Workloads that are processed at location C, on the other hand, benefit most from particularly green energy, so that the CO2 footprint of the workload is minimised. Depending on how Krake is to optimise the placement of the workload, controlled by metrics and labels, it is placed where the conditions for processing the respective compute job are most efficient.

2. energy-optimised placement of workloads

If the distributed digital infrastructure is supplied at its locations by different energy suppliers, such as a wind turbine, a hydroelectric power plant or a solar farm, Krake could be used to place the workloads at the exact location where the most renewable energy is generated. Depending on the weather conditions and the current energy requirements of the power grid, Krake could distribute the workloads in such a way that the most efficient utilisation of renewable energy is achieved.

3. placement of workloads based on further individual metrics

Even if Krake is primarily suitable for placing workloads as sustainably as possible, there are no limits to creativity in its application. Scenarios are conceivable in which Krake places workloads on a time-controlled basis or moves workloads based on service parameters (e.g. network latency). For example, Krake can always place workloads with particularly critical accessibility in data centres that have high network stability, increased accessibility and low latency.

Documentation & Source Code

Cooperative software tools

Krake can be used to control Cloud & Kubernetes cluster resources in order to distribute workloads across them. In addition, Krake also offers the option of creating Kubernetes cluster resources using other tools. This function is currently supported in Krake by the Infrastructure Manager (IM). A similar approach for creating cloud resources (OpenStack) is planned with Yaook and is currently being implemented.

Videos about Krake

ALASCA Tech Talk

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Krake is introduced

AI Sprint

YouTube

By loading the video, you accept YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Krake in the "AI Sprint" project

Meetings

Meeting-room & date

Kraken Weekly:
Every Thursday, 11.30 a.m. (Europe/Berlin TZ)

Krake Logo Open Source Cloud Distributed workload management made easy
You want to actively participate in Krake and let your ideas and skills flow into our open-source project?

Find out here how to become part of the developer community around Krake and come aboard:

A project by ALASCA

In November 2023, Krake found its new home at ALASCA - a non-profit organisation for the (further) development of operational, open cloud infrastructures. ALASCA's mission revolves around the further development and provision of open source tools that not only enable but also facilitate the development and operation of customised cloud infrastructures.

In addition to the practical development work on these projects, ALASCA also sees itself as a provider of knowledge on these topics - not only within the organisation, but also to the outside world, for example in the form of the ALASCA Tech Talks.

With a strong, motivated community and the combined expertise of its members, ALASCA is driving forward digital sovereignty in Germany and Europe in the long term - also in collaboration with other open source initiatives and communities in the digital sector.

de_DE_formal

Entdecke Krake

Maximierung der Energieeffizienz von Rechenaufgaben mit Open-Source-Software

Was ist Krake?

Mittels der Orchestrator-Engine Krake können containerisierte Workloads auf verteilten und heterogenen Cloud-Plattformen automatisch verwaltet werden. Entdecke mehr über die Open-Source-Softwarelösung, ihre Features und die Use Cases unten.

Warum Krake?

Herausforderungen

Rechenjobs sind wahre Energiefresser, insbesondere KI-Anwendungen verbrauchen aufgrund ihrer Größe und Komplexität signifikant mehr Rechenleistung und Energie als herkömmliche Computejobs. Der daraus entstehende Konflikt aus ernstzunehmenden CO2-Fußabdrücken und KI-Anwendungen, die durchaus das Potential bergen, unsere ökologischen und ökonomischen Herausforderungen zu bewältigen, darf nicht vernachlässigt werden.

Lösung & Vorteile

Hier kommt Krake ins Spiel. Krake [ˈkʀaːkə] ist eine Orchestrator-Engine für containerisierte und virtualisierte Workloads auf verteilten und heterogenen Cloud-Plattformen.

Mit Krake kann der Cloud-User seine virtuellen Arbeitslasten – neben typischen Metriken, wie u.a. Hardware, Latenzen und Kosten, vor allem anhand Energieeffizienz-bezogener Kriterien verteilen lassen.

Dies geschieht, indem Krake eine dünne Aggregationsschicht über den verschiedenen Plattformen (wie OpenStack oder Kubernetes) schafft und sie dem Cloud-Nutzer über eine einzige Schnittstelle zur Verfügung stellt.

Einsatzbereich

Krake kann für eine Vielzahl von Anwendungsszenarien eingesetzt werden, in denen die Verarbeitung virtueller Rechenjobs oder die Auslastung der digitalen Infrastruktur optimiert werden sollen.

Features

Modularität

Die architekturellen Komponenten von Krake, welche als Mikroservices im Hintergrund agieren, hängen lose zusammen und können unabhängig voneinander gestartet, angepasst oder mit eigenen Entwicklungen  ausgetauscht werden.

Intelligente Arbeitslast-Verteilung

Anhand von individuellen Metriken und Labeln kann Krake automatisiert und intelligent entscheiden, wo eine virtualisierte Arbeitslast ausgeführt werden soll.

Skalierbarkeit

Mithilfe von Krake und Infrastruktur bereitstellender Software (z. B. dem Infrastructure Manager) lassen sich Kubernetes-Cluster ausrollen, anpassen und skalieren. Dies ist sowohl manuell als auch automatisiert möglich.

Open Source

Krake ist vollumfänglich Open-Source und profitiert so von vielen Vorteilen, wie z. B. von einer starken Community, einer hohen  Qualität und Sicherheit durch Peer-Reviews oder die Förderung der Interoperabilität oder langfristige Zugänglichkeit des Codes.

Use Cases

In einer verteilten digitalen Infrastruktur können die virtualisierten Arbeitslasten mithilfe von Krake genau an den Standorten verarbeitet werden, die aus ökologischer, technischer oder wirtschaftlicher Sicht zu jedem Zeitpunkt optimal sind.  Für die Berechnung von optimalen Ausführungsorten können Nutzer die Metriken individuell festlegen. Daraus ergeben sich die folgenden Beispiel-Szenarien:

1. Anforderungsoptimierte Arbeitslast-Verteilung

Der Einsatz von Krake kann sicherstellen, dass eine virtualisierte Arbeitslast immer am optimalen Standort verarbeitet wird. Zuerst selektiert Krake die Standorte die alle Anforderung der Anwendung erfüllen (z.B. technische Restriktionen) vor. Im Anschluss kann Krake darunter den besten Standort für die Verarbeitung de Arbeitslast, beispielsweise aus Energieoptimierungsperspektive, auswählen. 

So könnte ein Compute-Job aufgrund seiner hohen Rechenlast an Standort A dazu beitragen, ein Gebäude zu heizen, während an Standort B Arbeitslasten verarbeitet werden, die ganz speziellen Anforderungen an Datensicherheit gerecht werden sollen. Arbeitslasten, die an Standort C verarbeitet werden, profitierten hingegen am meisten von besonders grüner Energie, sodass der CO2-Fußabdruck der Arbeitslast minimal gehalten wird. Je nachdem, wie Krake die Platzierung der Arbeitslast optimieren soll, gesteuert durch Metriken und Label, wird diese dort platziert, wo die Voraussetzungen für die Verarbeitung des jeweiligen Compute-Jobs am effizientesten sind.

2. Energieoptimierte Platzierung von Arbeitslasten

Wird die verteilte digitale Infrastruktur an ihren Standorten durch verschiedene Energielieferanten, wie zum Beispiel einer Windkraftanlage, einem Wasserkraftwerk oder durch eine Solarfarm, versorgt, könnten die Arbeitslasten mithilfe von Krake genau an dem Standort platziert werden, an welchem die meiste erneuerbare Energie generiert wird. Je nach Wetterlage und aktuellem Energiebedarf des Stromnetzes könnte Krake die Arbeitslasten so verteilen, dass eine möglichst hohe effiziente Ausnutzung erneuerbarer Energien erreicht wird.

3. Platzierung von Arbeitslasten anhand weiterer individueller Metriken

Auch wenn Krake sich vordergründig dazu eignet, Arbeitslasten möglichst nachhaltig zu platzieren, so ist der Kreativität in der Anwendung keine Grenze gesetzt. Denkbar sind Szenarien in denen Krake die Platzierung von Arbeitslasten zeitgesteuert vornimmt oder Arbeitslasten anhand von Service-Parametern (z.B. Netzwerklatenz) verschiebt. So kann Krake beispielsweise Arbeitslasten mit besonders kritischer Zugänglichkeit immer in Rechenzentren platzieren, welche eine hohe Netzwerkstabilität, eine erhöhte Erreichbarkeit und eine niedrige Latenz aufweisen.

Dokumentation & Quellcode

Kooperative Softwaretools

Mit Krake lassen sich Cloud- & Kubernetes-Cluster-Ressourcen ansteuern, um Arbeitslasten auf diesen zu verteilen. Darüber hinaus bietet Krake aber auch die Möglichkeit Kubernetes-Cluster-Ressourcen über weitere Tools erzeugen zu lassen. Aktuell wird diese Funktion in Krake durch den Infrastructure Manager (IM) unterstützt. Für das Erzeugen von Cloud-Ressourcen (OpenStack) ist ein ähnlicher Ansatz mit Yaook geplant und befindet sich gerade in Umsetzung.

Yaook

Yaook - Lifecycle Management Tool für OpenStack

Infrastructure Manager

Videos über Krake

ALASCA Tech-Talk

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Krake wird vorgestellt

AI-Sprint

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Krake im Projekt „AI-Sprint“

Meetings

Meeting-room & date

Krake Weekly:
Jeden Donnerstag, 11 Uhr (Europe/Berlin TZ)

Krake Logo Open Source Cloud Distributed workload management made easy
Ihr wollt Krake aktiv mitgestalten und eure Ideen und Skills in unser Open-Source-Projekt einfließen lassen?

Informiert euch hier, wie ihr Teil der Developer-Community rund um Krake werdet und kommt an Bord:

Ein Projekt von ALASCA

Im November 2023 fand Krake sein neues Zuhause bei ALASCA – einem gemeinnützigen Verein für die (Weiter)entwicklung betriebsfähiger, offener Cloud-Infrastrukturen. Die Mission von ALASCA dreht sich um die Weiterentwicklung und Bereitstellung von Open-Source Tools, die den Aufbau und Betrieb eigener Cloud-Infrastrukturen nicht nur ermöglichen, sondern auch erleichtern.

Neben der praktischen Entwicklungsarbeit an diesen Projekten versteht sich ALASCA auch als Vermittler von Wissen rund um diese Themen – nicht nur innerhalb des Vereins, sondern auch nach außen hin, wie beispielsweise in Form der ALASCA Tech-Talks.

Mit einer starken, motivierten Community und der geballten Kompetenz der Vereinsmitglieder treibt ALASCA die digitale Souveränität in Deutschland und Europa damit nachhaltig voran – auch in Zusammenarbeit mit weiteren Open-Source-Initiativen und -Communities der digitalen Branche.

en_GB